Discussion Forums - Forums for discussion of accessible web site design
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister  Content Enhanced - Use Any Browser
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Posts to this forum are now disabled due to low use and abuse by spammers.

problem in IE with html frames

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Any Browser Forums Forum Index -> Browser Issues
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
speck693



Joined: 16 Dec 2007
Posts: 3
Location: mumbai,india

PostPosted: Sun Dec 16, 2007 9:10 pm    Post subject: problem in IE with html frames Reply with quote

hi ,
am speck, currently working in goverment organization for training period.
n maintaining there website.
as these people want to show pdf file on internet , there website using frames to show pdf files
previously there was 3 frames n those all frames were working.
but in last week as per instruction i removed one frame n now that website is not working properly in ie.
as i just made colunm n row size to 0%. that frame is still there.wat will be problem.
u can view website http://www.konkanrailway.com

Sad

this is code---------

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Frameset//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/frameset.dtd">

<head>
<title>Konkan Railway Corporation Ltd</title>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
</head>

<frameset rows="*" frameborder="NO" border="0" framespacing="0">
<frameset cols="0,*" frameborder="NO" border="0" framespacing="0">
<frame src="onenew.htm" name="leftFrame" scrolling="no" noresize>
<frameset id="fset" rows="110,*" framespacing="0" frameborder="NO" border="0">
<frameset id="fset" cols="*" framespacing="0" frameborder="NO" border="0">
<frame id="frm1" name="frm1" src="two.html" scrolling="NO" noresize>
</frameset>
<frameset id="fset" cols="*" framespacing="0" frameborder="NO" border="0">
<frame id="frm2" name="frm2" src="threenew.html" scrolling="auto">
</frameset>
</frameset>
</frameset>
</frameset>
<noframes><body>

</body></noframes>
</html>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Adrian



Joined: 04 Jun 2007
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2007 12:01 am    Post subject: Re: problem in IE with html frames Reply with quote

speck693 wrote:
hi ,
am speck, currently working in goverment organization for training period.
n maintaining there website.
as these people want to show pdf file on internet , there website using frames to show pdf files
previously there was 3 frames n those all frames were working.
but in last week as per instruction i removed one frame n now that website is not working properly in ie.
as i just made colunm n row size to 0%. that frame is still there.wat will be problem.
u can view website http://www.konkanrailway.com

Sad


You don't need to use frames to display PDF's, it's been years since I've used frames, still suprised to see them!

My guess is the fact you have changed the colunm and row sizes to 0, the site works OK in firefox, I would start by validating your code and getting it right as it fails at the moment.

http://validator.w3.org/check?verbose=1&uri=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.konkanrailway.com%2F


When you fix it you may want to try and get the departmant your working for to update the site using CSS based design as this will be more user friendly and accessible, SEO much better etc...........
_________________
Adrian

Rayfields accessibility consultancy - Independent Testers - Breakofday
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
speck693



Joined: 16 Dec 2007
Posts: 3
Location: mumbai,india

PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2007 10:56 pm    Post subject: hey thxx for reply but stil in trouble Reply with quote

as am dont know too much abt html frames . i tried best to solve this problem but fails to do so . as am not understanding wat to do in coding . when am trying differnt option the things r getting worse for me.

i tried the simple coding from w3 in tried but as am using java script drop down menu on the top, these menu are going getting overlap by down layer.

but i want to ask u one more thing as this page was previously working well in ie n i just made column n row size to zero n this frames stop working in ie .

as am not understanding the suggestion in w3 validation plzzz explain me wat r do be done for this to be upto date.

or there is any other way to this frames setting plzzzzzzz help.

as am from india people here use ie more than any other browser
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Adrian



Joined: 04 Jun 2007
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 1:03 am    Post subject: Re: hey thxx for reply but stil in trouble Reply with quote

I think the best option would be to put back the old site/code and leave it as that.

I hope you took a backup of the site before changing it??
_________________
Adrian

Rayfields accessibility consultancy - Independent Testers - Breakofday
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Any Browser Forums Forum Index -> Browser Issues All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
This board is protected by Phpbbantispam
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group